

16th Seminar for National Judges

Promoting Connectivity to Ensure a Fair and Competitive Digital Economy

21 - 22 September 2023

Albert Borschette Congress Center, Rue Froissart 36, 1040 Etterbeek, Belgium

Anna Renata Pisarkiewicz | European University Institute Pier Luigi Parcu | European University Institute

Programme

21 September	
14.00 - 14.30	Registration
14.30 - 16.00	Session I: Digital Services Act
	Ana Balcells Cartagena European Commission Federica Casarosa European University Institute
16.00 - 16.15	Coffee Break
16.15 - 17.30	Session II: National Developments in the Regulation of Telecommunications Services
	Moderator Hendrik Kerkmeester University of Antwerp / Supreme Administrative Court for Trade and Industry
	 Mercedes Pedraz Calvo Audiencia Nacional Imposing Maximum Prices on Unregulated Services Anne-Marie Witters Court of Appeal of Brussels The Passing on of Contact Details of Subscribers to (Competing) Providers of Telephone Directories and the GDPR Anu Maria Brenner Tallinn Administrative Court The Public Competition for Grant of Right to Use Radio Frequency Band – Estonia Experience

17.30 - 19.00 Welcome Reception



22 September

- 09.30 10.00 Security Check
- 10.00 11.00 Keynote The Evolution of EU Case Law in the Electronic Communications Nina Półtorak | General Court
- 11.00 11.30 Coffee Break
- 11.30 12.45 Session III Net Neutrality and Network Equipment

Moderator Maria Alessandra Rossi | European University Institute / University of Chieti – Pescara

Vincenzo Blanda | TAR Lazio, Rome
Net Neutrality and Consumers' Free Choice of Modems
Ionel Florea | High Court of Cassation, Romania
Unlimited Net Bonus – "Traffic Shaping" (Safeguarding an Equal and Non-Discriminatory Internet Traffic)
Robert Johansson | Administrative Court of Appeal of Stockholm
Judgement Regarding Prohibition Against Products from Huawei in the Swedish 5G Network

- 12.45 14.15 Lunch
- 14.15 15.30 Session IV: Recent Developments and Future Challenges

Moderator Pier Luigi Parcu | European University Institute

Serge Abiteboul | ARCEP Achieving Digital Sustainability Maria Alessandra Rossi | European University Institute / University of Chieti – Pescara The Future of Net Neutrality Konstantinos Masselos | BEREC Policy and Regulatory Challenges Towards 2030 Connectivity Targets

15.30 - 15.45 Final Remarks by the Organisers

Speakers

Serge Abiteboul	ARCEP, France
Ana Balcells Cartagena	European Commission, Belgium
Vincenzo Blanda	Regional Administrative Court, Italy
Anu Maria Brenner	Administrative Court of Tallinn, Estonia
Federica Casarosa	European University Institiute, Italy
Ionel Florea	High Court of Cassation and Justice, Romania
Robert Johansson	Administrative Court of Appeal, Sweden
Heico Kerkmeester	High Court for Trade and Industry, Netherlands
Konstantinos Masselos	Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission, Greece
Pedraz Calvo Mercedes	National Court , Spain
Pier Luigi Parcu	European University Institiute, Italy
Anna Renata Pisarkiewicz	European University Institiute, Italy
Nina Półtorak	General Court, Luxembourg
Maria Alessandra Rossi	European University Institute / University of Chieti – Pescara, Italy
Anne - Marie Witters	Market Court - Court of appeal in Brussels , Belgium

Participants

Belma Abazagic	National Regulatory Authority for Broadcasting and Telecommunications, Austria
Nicole Abela	Communications Authority, Malta
Barbera Bastein	Administrative Court for Trade and Industry, Netherlands
Slavi Belchev	Communications Regulation Commission, Bulgaria
Thorbjoern Bendix Kleif	Danish Business Authority, Denmark
Vasile Bicu	High Court of Cassation and Justice, Romania
Stylianos Bios	Court of First Instance of Thessaloniki, Greece
Dorien Brugman	Administrative Court for Trade and Industry, Netherlands
Tudor Burlacu	National Authority for Management and Regulation in Communications, Romania
Josiana Carneiro	National Regulatory Authority for Communications, Portugal
Špela Čerin	Agency for Communication Networks and Services, Slovenia
Pablo Charro	National Markets and Competition Commission , Spain
Jelena Čuveljak	Hig Commercial Court, Croatia
Axel Desmedt	Belgian Institute for Postal Services and Telecommunications, Belgium
Francesco Di Giorgi	Communications Regulatory Authority, Italy
Chavdar Dimitrov	Administrative Court - Burgas, Bulgaria
Ann-jeanette Eriksson	Administrative Court of Appeal, Sweden
Alkiviadis Feresidis	Court of First Instance Piraeus, Greece
Anna Ferrari	European University Institute, Italy
Carlos Manuel Gon <u>c</u> alves De Melo Marinho	Lisbon Court of Appeal, Portugal
Rita Guerra	National Communications Authority, Portugal
Panayiota Hadjistylli	Office of the Commissioner for Electronic Communications and Postal Regulation, Cyprus
Veronika Hallgató	Court of Érd, Hungary
Søren Jakobsen	Telecommunications Complaint Board, Denmark
Stephan Jansen	Authority for Consumers and Markets, Netherlands
Krisztina Juhász	Regional Court of Budapest, Hungary
Aridana Jurciukoniene	Communications Regulatory Authority, Lithuania
Toni Kaarresalo	Supreme Administrative Court, Finland

Vasileios Kondylis	Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission, Greece
Anna Kowalik	District Court, Poland
Lijana Le Huede	District Court of Vilnius, Lithuania
Ulrica Ljunggren	Post and Telecom Authority, Sweden
Ana Paula Lobo	Supreme Court of Justice, Portugal
Giovanni Magro	Ministry of Justice, Italy
Domagoj Maričić	National Regulatory Authority for Network Industries, Croatia
Handstanger Meinrad	Supreme Administrative Court, Austria
Verginiya Micheva-ruseva	Sofia City Court, Bulgaria
Berta-cristina Mihalcea	National Authority for Management and Regulation in Communications, Romania
Krasimira Milachkova	Administrative Court - Burgas, Bulgaria
Olga Nodarou	Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission, Greece
Erica Nyström	Post and Telecom Authority, Sweden
Manuela Ostoić Čačinović	Administrative Court, Croatia
Ranie Partiman	Authority for Consumers and Markets, Netherlands
Rosa Perna	Regional Administrative Court of Piedmont, Italy
Lyubka Petrova	Supreme Administrative Court, Bulgaria
Julia Pistol	Post and Telecom Authority, Sweden
Diāna Popena	Public Utilities Commission, Latvia
Nikola Popovic	National Regulatory Authority for Network Industries, Croatia
Igor Prokurica	National Regulatory Authority for Network Industries, Croatia
Cristina Reis	National Regulatory Authority for Communications, Portugal
Gábor Remes	Supreme Court, Hungary
Idalina Ribeiro	Labor Court, Portugal
Jose Fernando Rodero	National Markets and Competition Commission, Spain
Mioara Ramona Rudnic	National Regulatory Authority for Communications and Information Technology, Romania
Stefania Salvati	Luxembourg Regulatory Institute, Luxembourg
Enerjeta Shehaj	Administrative Court of First Instance of Tirana, Albania
Ewa Stefanska	Supreme Court, Poland
lannis Symplis	Council of State, Greece

Alexander Thelen	Federal Network Agency, Germany
Weber Tom	Luxembourg Regulatory Institute, Luxembourg
Gospodin Tonev	Sofia City Court, Bulgaria
Michel Van Bellinghen	Belgian Institute for Postal Services and Telecommunications, Belgium
Kiki Varsanidou	Office of the Commissioner of Electronic Communications and Postal Regulation, Cyprus
Dékány Virag Bernadett	District Court of Érd, Hungary
Doina ViŞan	High Court of Cassation and Justice, Romania
Emanuela Vitello	Court of Appeal of L'Aquila, Italy
Damjana Zajec	Agency for Communication Networks and Services, Slovenia